Canonet

Because of my awesome bff and photography partner, OC, I was able to acquire (and by “acquire”, I mean borrow and will likely never return)  a Canon Canonet QL rangefinder made in the late 1960s. This is my first experience shooting with a working rangefinder. Actually, I inherited a Yashica Electro 35 several years ago, but because the batteries were discontinued and the adapters I bought didn’t work, I couldn’t get the camera to fully function.  But the Canonet is  pretty easy to use and carry around. I actually bought myself one from ebay recently, which doesn’t work yet because the shutter blades tend to stick on these older cameras,  but I will figure out how to fix it soon.

I am still having a few issues with manual metering and focusing, but these are some of the first images I took with the Canonet using Portra 160. I think it’s a really good camera for street photography, once you get a handle on the focusing ring.

Canonet-2

Canonet-4

Canonet-7

Canonet-8

Canonet-10

Canonet-11

Canonet-12

Canonet-13

Canonet-14

Canonet-17

Canonet-22

Canonet-23

Leave a Reply

