Yashica FX-3

For my birthday a couple of weeks ago, I received a Yashica FX-3 Super 2000, made in 1986. It came with a great 35-70mm lens, which is a nice change from predominantly using (50mm) prime lenses on my film cameras.

I always love the first roll on a new camera. I usually have doubts of it turning out the way I want it to, making especially sure I get the settings right, getting used to the focus on the lens.  It’s also really nice that I’m getting better at using my cameras on complete manual mode (though having a light meter app to double check is nice too).

These are shot on Portra 160, in both sunny and rainy weather conditions (I was holding an umbrella while shooting on a couple of these shots). I’m not including the whole roll but the beginning were taken along Broadview Ave. and the rest on Dundas Street yesterday during a march and vigil for Sammy Yatim.

YashicaJuly30-5

YashicaJuly30-6

YashicaJuly30-8

YashicaJuly30-11

YashicaJuly30-13

YashicaJuly30-14

YashicaJuly30-16

YashicaJuly30-17

YashicaJuly30-18

YashicaJuly30-19

YashicaJuly30-26

YashicaJuly30-29

YashicaJuly30-31

YashicaJuly30-34

All images © 2013 Sara Mir.

Leave a Reply

